W.O.W.! Lessons on Love

Do you ever feel misunderstood?

Recently, someone remarked quite negatively that I live with my head in the clouds. I suspect the person was expecting me to protest or at least take offense–for the seemingly harmless words that you just read were spoken with venom. Instead, I thanked this person– and meant it whole-heartedly–and the tension was dissolved with a good laugh.

I know this must sound odd–to take something that someone intended as an insult as a compliment, but allow me to explain.

For years, I have struggled with two conflicting elements of my personality. You see, there is a part of me that is fact and data-driven, all about security, and ultimately task-oriented. Yet, there is this other part of me that is creative, spiritual, and free. Both elements of my personality work together to enable me to do my job well, but in my personal life, these two elements can be odds. I mean, it is hard to crave both security and freedom–while one side longs for the comfort of my couch, the other desires to explore the swamp across the street.

I’m sure I am not alone here. Certainly, other people have warring elements of their personality. But this verse brings me comfort:

1 Corinthians 13:12

This verse was taken from 1 Corinthians 13–also known as The Love Chapter–and I just LOVE the hope it brings.

In the here and now, we don’t have the full picture. No, I don’t understand why that student just blew up on me today because I wouldn’t proofread her paper for a second time.

But God sees the whole picture: perhaps, she has dyslexia and has always struggled with the written word. Maybe, she’s just under a lot of stress; she could be struggling to support herself, her first time on her own. Or maybe, she’s dealing with some issues with her family–what if her brother just tried to commit suicide and his hospital stay caused her to miss too much class?

We never truly know…

But one day we will, and we will be known in return. And this type of love will occur in our relationships with one another and also with God.

 

W.O.W.!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

